There Really are Winners! Why You Should Enter the Follett Challenge

   first order deb cross

by Deb Cross, Goochland High School

You really CAN do it!

“I don’t have time to do one more thing!” I know, that is exactly what I thought last year when I was debating entering the Follett Challenge. I have to admit, the idea of I don’t have time to do one more thing! I know, that is exactly what I thought last year when I was debating entering the Follett Challenge.

I have to admit, the idea of winning free money to expand teaching and learning in my school was quite enticing, especially with all of the budget cuts that are happening. So, I decided to go for it. I knew that we were doing great things in our high school, and the Follett Challenge was the platform we needed to showcase it all. I work in a small county, so the idea that 30% of the calculated totals would come from the voting was a bit intimidating, as I knew we would be up against larger schools that could earn many more votes. But, I didn’t let that stop me.

Having the opportunity to see so many creative things happening using one platform, the Follett Challenge, was worth me entering.  So many schools are doing fantastic things; watching the videos of other entrants was inspiring. Sometimes we get so involved in what we are doing in our communities that we don’t look elsewhere for ideas as to how we could do things differently. We get stuck doing the same thing over and over each year because we don’t feel as if we have the time to change. Seeing so many creative things being done at other schools inspired me to do more with my students and teachers, to be better.
When I found out that our school won 4th prize, I was speechless. The opportunities that winning has presented our teachers are amazing. I have been able to provide materials way beyond what we can usually offer students. I now have quite a large collection of nonfiction ebooks for research, numerous new class sets of books and many of the items teachers have requested have been ordered. I compare winning to being a kid in a candy shop and able to pick out anything I wanted….it is incredible. And all of this was gained by taking a chance and entering the Follett Challenge.
So, I encourage you to find the extra time to submit an entry to the Follett Challenge. There really are winners, and it could be you!

Deb Cross
Goochland High School

wewon deb cross

Leave a Reply

